Bakkerud returns as World RX unveils 16-car entry list

Bakkerud returns as World RX unveils 16-car entry list
Mar 6, 2019, 1:37 PM

Former teammates Andreas Bakkerud and Liam Doran will pair up in a new World Rallycross team for the 2019 season.

The 2013 European Championship teammates will drive a pair of Audi S1s under the Monster Energy RX Cartel banner, the 2019 entry list has revealed.

Sixteen permanent entries feature on the list released by the FIA on Wednesday, which also includes a second permanent full-time Ford Fiesta for Manfred Stohl’s STARD team, alongside the team’s returning 2018 driver Janis Baumanis.

No official confirmation has been made about which Audi S1s the new Monster team will field.

However, with Mattias Ekstrom’s squad believed to only have three Audis left following recent announcements (one 2017 and two 2018 spec S1s), the likelihood is therefore that Bakkerud and Doran will drive the most recent version of the S1, assuming they use EKS versions of the Audi hatchback.

Six two-car teams from Monster Energy, STARD, GRX Taneco, GCK Kompetition, GCK Academy and Team Hansen MJP are joined on the World RX line-up by four individual entrants Timo Scheider (Munnich Motorsport), Oliver Bennett (Xite Racing), Krisztian Szabo (EKS Sport) and Rokas Baciuska (ESmotorsport-Labas GAS).

The first round of the season will be held at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina Formula 1 circuit on the first weekend in April.

Permanent World RX entries




Munnich Motorsport

Seat Ibiza

Timo Scheider


Ford Fiesta

Janis Baumanis

Xite Racing

Mini Cooper

Oliver Bennett

GRX Taneco

Hyundai i20

Niclas Gronholm

Timur Timerzyanov

EKS Sport

Audi S1

Krisztian Szabo

GC Kompetition

Renault Megane

Guerlain Chicherit

Anton Marklund

GCK Academy

Renault Clio

Cyril Raymond

Guillaume de Ridder

Team Hansen MJP

Peugeot 208

Timmy Hansen

Kevin Hansen

ESmotorsport-Labas GAS 

Skoda Fabia

Rokas Baciuska

Monster Energy RX Cartel

Audi S1

Andreas Bakkerud
Liam Doran

Next article
Team Hansen secures World RX comeback after Peugeot exit

Previous article

Team Hansen secures World RX comeback after Peugeot exit

Load comments

About this article

Series World Rallycross
Drivers Andreas Bakkerud , Liam Doran
Author Hal Ridge
Be first to get
breaking news