Mira Erda, Sneha Sharma in W Series preliminary list

Mira Erda, Sneha Sharma in W Series preliminary list
Rachit Thukral
By: Rachit Thukral
Nov 28, 2018, 6:16 AM

Indian racers Mira Erda and Sneha Sharma could potentially drive in the all-female W Series in 2019 after earning an entry into the initial pool of drivers.

Erda became the first women racer to take part in the flagship Euro JK category of JK Tyre National Racing Championship in 2017 and stayed on in the same series this year.

Sharma, meanwhile, has been a regular in the Formula LGB category of the same championship, but stepped back from her involvement last year due to a knee injury. 

She made a strong comeback earlier this month after fighting her way back through rehab and other physiotherapy exercises. 

Both drivers have now been included in W Series’ preliminary list of 55-names from which 18 drivers will be shortlisted to take part in the first season of the championship.

The selection process will involve four days of on-and-off track trials followed by subsequent tests in the F3-spec W Series car.

The selection team comprises former Formula 1 driver and series backer David Coulthard, series racing director Dave Ryan and Le Mans 24 Hours winner Alex Wurx.

Drivers have to bring zero sponsorship to race in the series and instead will be awarded from a prize pot of $1.5 million.

The winner will earn $500,000 to fund her career up the motorsport ladder to F1.

Next article
Load comments

About this article

Series W Series
Drivers Mira Erda , Sneha Sharma
Author Rachit Thukral