Marrakesh E-Prix: Mahindra returns to winning ways in Formula E

Marrakesh E-Prix: Mahindra returns to winning ways in Formula E
Rachit Thukral
By: Rachit Thukral
Jan 12, 2019, 3:59 PM

Mahindra Racing claimed a surprise ABB FIA Formula E victory in the Marrakesh E-Prix after the race-leading BMW Andretti cars collided in the dying moments of the race.

Jerome d’Ambrosio started the second race of the season only 10th on the grid but took advantage of the first corner melee - caused by Jean-Eric Vergne spinning from second position - to jump up to fifth position.

He spent the first half of the race consolidating his place, before turning up the wick in a bid to add to his Ad Diriyah podium.

The Belgian racer first retook Audi’s Lucas di Grassi and then passed the Virgin duo of Sam Bird and Robin Frijns in quick succession, moving himself up to third position.

With just 10 minutes remaining in the race, d’Ambrosio and Mahindra found themselves gifted race victory as Antonio Felix da Costa and Alexander Sims collided in the rundown to turn 8.

Sims was trying to pass race leader da Costa on the outside but both locked up and hit each other, with the latter retiring from the race immediately.

Sims was able to continue but dropped down the order, with d’Ambrosio - who was running third - seizing the lead in the process.

A late safety car appearance did put d’Ambrosio’s victory under threat as Frijns rapidly closed in on him on the final lap, but the Mahindra driver held on to win the race by just 0.143s.

It was Mahindra’s fourth ever Formula E win and first since last year’s Marrakesh E-Prix.

Wehrlein suffers early retirement

There was a disappointment on the other side of the garage as Pascal Wehrlein was forced to retire on his series debut.

Wehrlein did well to qualify seventh on the grid but was forced to take evasive action due to Vergne’s aforementioned spin.

Worse still, he was hit by an unsighted di Grassi, with the damaged so caused proving to be terminal.

Next article
Load comments

About this article

Series Formula E
Drivers Jérôme d'Ambrosio
Teams Mahindra Racing
Author Rachit Thukral